A Rabies Certificate
No shot, no license. Connecticut won't issue a license unless the rabies immunity is still in effect on the day you apply.
Pet license laws · Last checked October 2026
Dog license requirements by state fall into two camps. Twenty states and D.C. write the rule into state law, like New York and Pennsylvania. The rest let each city or county decide. Either way, you usually license through a local office with a rabies certificate.
General information, not legal advice. Rules change. Confirm the details with your city or county.
Probably yes. Twenty states and D.C. require a dog license in state law and most big cities we checked require one by local ordinance. Licensing usually starts between 3 and 7 months old.
Dog license requirements by state follow two rulebooks. In state-law states a statute tells every owner to license. Virginia requires a license from four months and Arizona from three months.
Elsewhere, the state hands the job to local governments. Texas lets cities and counties require registration.
Paperwork is short. Most offices ask for a current rabies certificate, your contact details and proof of spay or neuter for the lower fee.
Most programs also want the license tag on the collar. D.C. law says your dog must wear a collar or harness with its license.
No shot, no license. Connecticut won't issue a license unless the rabies immunity is still in effect on the day you apply.
The clock starts early. New Hampshire licenses dogs from 4 months, while New Jersey waits until 7 months.
Terms vary a lot. Delaware sells 1- or 2-year licenses and Denver offers a $150 lifetime license.
The tag is the proof. Anchorage requires a current license tag on the collar or harness, with a few exceptions.
These dog license laws by state are sorted A to Z. The who sets the rule column shows whether a state statute or the city or county is in charge. Each row links a source.
Rules were last checked in October 2026. This is general information, not legal advice.
| State | Who sets the rule | Who issues | Cats | Rabies proof | Official source | MyPetDMV design |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Local State requires rabies shots | City or county, e.g. Huntsville Animal Services | Yes in Huntsville | Yes | City of Huntsville | Alabama pet ID design |
| Alaska | Local | City, e.g. Anchorage Animal Care & Control | Not in Anchorage's code | Yes | Municipality of Anchorage | Alaska pet ID design |
| Arizona | State law A.R.S. § 11-1008 | County, e.g. Maricopa County | Not covered | Yes | A.R.S. § 11-1008 | Arizona pet ID design |
| Arkansas | Local State requires rabies shots | City, e.g. Little Rock Animal Services | Yes in Little Rock | Yes | City of Little Rock | Arkansas pet ID design |
| California | State law H&S Code § 121690 | City or county | Varies (LA County yes, LA City no) | Yes | H&S Code § 121690 | California pet ID design |
| Colorado | Local C.R.S. 30-15-101 | City or county, e.g. Denver Animal Protection | Yes in Denver | Yes | City of Denver | Colorado pet ID design |
| Connecticut | State law C.G.S. § 22-338 | Town clerk | Not covered | Yes | C.G.S. § 22-338 (town copy) | Connecticut pet ID design |
| Delaware | State law State-run program | Office of Animal Welfare | Not licensed | Yes | Delaware Office of Animal Welfare | Delaware pet ID design |
| District of Columbia | D.C. law D.C. Code § 8-1804 | DC Health | Not covered | Yes, plus distemper | D.C. Code § 8-1804 | District of Columbia pet ID design |
| Florida | Local State requires rabies shots | County, e.g. Miami-Dade Animal Services | Optional in Miami-Dade | Yes | Miami-Dade County | Florida pet ID design |
| Georgia | Local | County, e.g. Fulton County Animal Services | Yes in Fulton County | Yes | Fulton County | Georgia pet ID design |
| Hawaii | State law HRS § 143-2; counties may waive | County; Honolulu uses microchips instead | Microchip required | Not part of Honolulu's program | HRS § 143-2 | Hawaii pet ID design |
| Idaho | Local | City, e.g. Boise City Clerk | Dogs only in Boise | Yes | City of Boise | Idaho pet ID design |
| Illinois | State law Rabies tag, 510 ILCS 5/8 | County; Chicago adds a city license | Rabies shot required | Yes | 510 ILCS 5/8 | Illinois pet ID design |
| Indiana | Local | Varies by city or county | Varies | Varies | City of Terre Haute | Indiana pet ID design |
| Iowa | Local | City, e.g. City of Des Moines | Yes in Des Moines | Yes | City of Des Moines | Iowa pet ID design |
| Kansas | Local | City, e.g. City of Wichita | Microchip, no license, in Wichita | Yes | City of Wichita | Kansas pet ID design |
| Kentucky | Local KRS 258.135 | County or city, e.g. Louisville Metro | Yes in Louisville | Yes | Louisville Metro | Kentucky pet ID design |
| Louisiana | Local La. R.S. 3:2772 | Parish or city, e.g. New Orleans | Yes in New Orleans | Yes | La. R.S. 3:2772 | Louisiana pet ID design |
| Maine | State law 7 M.R.S. § 3921 ff. | Municipal clerk | Not covered | Yes | 7 M.R.S. § 3923-A | Maine pet ID design |
| Maryland | Local | County, e.g. Baltimore County | Yes in Baltimore County | Yes | Baltimore County | Maryland pet ID design |
| Massachusetts | State law M.G.L. c. 140 § 137 | City or town clerk | Not covered | Yes | Mass.gov | Massachusetts pet ID design |
| Michigan | State law MCL 287.266 | County, township or city treasurer | Not covered | Yes | MCL 287.266 | Michigan pet ID design |
| Minnesota | Local | City, e.g. Minneapolis Animal Care & Control | Yes in Minneapolis | Yes | City of Minneapolis | Minnesota pet ID design |
| Mississippi | Local State requires rabies shots | Varies by city or county | Varies | Yes | Mississippi Board of Animal Health | Mississippi pet ID design |
| Missouri | Local | City, e.g. Kansas City | Yes in Kansas City | Yes | Kansas City, Missouri | Missouri pet ID design |
| Montana | Local | City, e.g. City of Billings | Yes in Billings | Yes | City of Billings | Montana pet ID design |
| Nebraska | Local Plus a $1.25 state fee | City, e.g. Grand Island or Omaha | Yes in Grand Island | Yes | City of Grand Island | Nebraska pet ID design |
| Nevada | Local | City, e.g. City of Las Vegas | Yes in Las Vegas | Yes | City of Las Vegas | Nevada pet ID design |
| New Hampshire | State law RSA 466:1 | Town or city clerk | Not covered | Yes | RSA 466:1 (town copy) | New Hampshire pet ID design |
| New Jersey | State law Municipal licenses | Your municipality | Many towns, by ordinance | Yes | NJ Department of Health | New Jersey pet ID design |
| New Mexico | Local | Albuquerque: no city license | Same as dogs | Vaccination required | City of Albuquerque | New Mexico pet ID design |
| New York | State law Ag. & Markets Law § 109 | Town or city clerk; NYC Health | Not covered | Yes | Ag. & Markets Law § 109 | New York pet ID design |
| North Carolina | Local | City or county, e.g. Charlotte-Mecklenburg | Yes in Charlotte | Yes | City of Charlotte | North Carolina pet ID design |
| North Dakota | Local | City, e.g. City of Fargo | Yes in Fargo | Not stated | City of Fargo | North Dakota pet ID design |
| Ohio | State law R.C. 955.02 | County auditor | Not covered | Check your county | Ohio Revised Code ch. 955 | Ohio pet ID design |
| Oklahoma | Local | Varies by city or county | Varies | Varies | Oklahoma City Animal Welfare | Oklahoma pet ID design |
| Oregon | State law ORS 609.100, where a dog program exists | County | Yes in Multnomah County | Yes | ORS 609.100 | Oregon pet ID design |
| Pennsylvania | State law Pennsylvania Dog Law | County treasurer | Not covered | Not stated on pa.gov | Pa.gov | Pennsylvania pet ID design |
| Rhode Island | State law R.I. Gen. Laws § 4-13-4 | City or town clerk | Not covered | Yes | R.I. Gen. Laws § 4-13-4 | Rhode Island pet ID design |
| South Carolina | Local State requires rabies shots | County, e.g. Richland County | Yes in Richland County | Yes | Richland County | South Carolina pet ID design |
| South Dakota | Local | City, e.g. City of Sioux Falls | Yes in Sioux Falls | Yes | City of Sioux Falls | South Dakota pet ID design |
| Tennessee | Local | Metro or city, e.g. Nashville | Not in Nashville's code | Yes | Metro Nashville | Tennessee pet ID design |
| Texas | Local Health & Safety Code § 826.031 | City or county, e.g. Houston BARC | Yes in Houston | Yes | City of Houston | Texas pet ID design |
| Utah | Local | County, e.g. Salt Lake County Animal Services | Yes in Salt Lake County | Yes | Salt Lake County | Utah pet ID design |
| Vermont | State law 20 V.S.A. § 3581 | Municipal clerk | Not covered | Yes | 20 V.S.A. § 3581 | Vermont pet ID design |
| Virginia | State law Va. Code § 3.2-6524 | County or city treasurer | Where a local ordinance requires | Yes | Va. Code § 3.2-6524 | Virginia pet ID design |
| Washington | Local | City, e.g. Seattle Animal Shelter | Yes in Seattle | Not stated | City of Seattle | Washington pet ID design |
| West Virginia | State law W. Va. Code § 19-20-2 | County assessor | Not covered | Not in the statute | W. Va. Code § 19-20-2 | West Virginia pet ID design |
| Wisconsin | State law Wis. Stat. § 174.05 | Town, village or city treasurer | Some cities | Yes | Wis. Stat. § 174.05 (county copy) | Wisconsin pet ID design |
| Wyoming | Local | Varies by city or county | Varies | Cheyenne requires rabies shots | Cheyenne Animal Shelter | Wyoming pet ID design |
| No state matches that search. Try another spelling. | ||||||
Want the full picture for one state? Each design link opens that state's page. Browse all 50 state designs.
Dog license requirements by state split almost down the middle. Twenty states and D.C. write licensing into state law, from Arizona to Wisconsin.
The other 30 states leave it to your city or county. Many of them still have rabies vaccination laws, like Alabama and Florida.
| State law (20 + D.C.) | Local rules (30) |
|---|---|
| Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin | Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wyoming |
Sometimes. Most state laws cover dogs only. Plenty of cities go further. Minneapolis and Louisville license cats alongside dogs.
Rules can flip at the city line. El Paso County, Colorado makes cat licenses voluntary. Wichita requires a microchip for cats instead of a license.
Usually less than a bag of dog food. Spayed or neutered dogs pay the least almost everywhere and seniors often get a discount too.
Unaltered dogs cost more. New York City charges $34 instead of $8.50 and Seattle charges $105 instead of $45.
| Place | 1-year fee | Good to know | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pennsylvania | $10.80 | Lifetime $52.80 | Pa.gov |
| Delaware | $10 spayed/neutered, $15 unaltered | Seniors 65+ pay $7 | Delaware OAW |
| Connecticut | $8 spayed/neutered, $19 unaltered | Due by June 30 | C.G.S. § 22-338 |
| New York City | $8.50 spayed/neutered, $34 unaltered | Buy up to 5 years | NYC Health |
| Denver, Colorado | $15 | 3 years $40, lifetime $150 | City of Denver |
| Maricopa County, Arizona | $22 spayed/neutered, $55 unaltered | Seniors 65+ pay $10 | Maricopa County |
| Ohio (state base fee) | $2 | Permanent $20; counties may charge more | Ohio Revised Code |
| Wisconsin (state minimum) | $3 spayed/neutered, $8 unaltered | Towns may raise it | Wis. Stat. § 174.05 |
Usually a fine, sometimes a big one. Pennsylvania warns that an unlicensed dog could bring a $500 fine per violation, plus court costs.
Late fees are more common. Connecticut adds $1 a month, Delaware charges $7 after 30 days and Maine adds a $25 late fee after January 31.
A pet license registers your dog with a government office. A pet ID tells a finder how to reach you.
So is a dog tag the same as a dog license? Not always. A personal ID tag isn't a license, though some license tags double as ID.
Issued by a government office, often every year. It usually needs a rabies certificate and a fee. It's required wherever your state or local law says so.
$17.95 for a wallet card and 3 keychain tags, styled after your state's license. You see a free preview first.
MyPetDMV IDs are novelty items. They aren't issued by any state, city or county. They don't replace your pet's license or rabies tag.
No. Twenty states and D.C. require dog licenses in state law, including New York, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The other 30 leave it to cities and counties so the answer depends on where you live. Check your state's row in the table above, then confirm locally.
Thirty states have no statewide licensing rule. In those states your city or county decides. Some big cities skip licenses entirely. Albuquerque dropped its city pet license and Honolulu replaced dog licenses with required microchips in 2020. Check the table for your state's rule.
Yes, where a license is required. Pennsylvania warns of a $500 fine per violation plus court costs. Other places charge late fees instead, like Connecticut's $1 a month or Maine's $25 after January 31. Licensing is usually cheaper than the penalty.
Not statewide. Texas law lets cities and counties require dog and cat registration so the rule depends on where you live. Houston, for example, requires a city license for dogs and cats, with a $60 yearly fee for unsterilized pets. Check your city's animal services page.
Not always. A license tag comes from a government office and proves your dog is registered. A personal ID tag, including a MyPetDMV novelty ID, just shows how to reach you. Many owners use both: the license for the law, the ID tag for a quick call home.
Usually, yes. Licenses are issued locally so they rarely transfer across state lines. Massachusetts, for example, gives a dog that's new to town 30 days to get licensed. Bring your rabies certificate and license your dog soon after you settle in.
No. A pet driver's license from MyPetDMV is a novelty ID styled after a state license. MyPetDMV IDs are novelty items. They aren't issued by any state, city or county. They don't replace your pet's license or rabies tag.
Start with your city or county website and search for animal services or the clerk's office. In states like Michigan and Virginia, the county or city treasurer issues licenses. Many vets also sell licenses. Some programs run online through DocuPet or PetData.
Want a fun backup? A MyPetDMV set costs $17.95 for a wallet card and 3 keychain tags, with a free preview first. MyPetDMV IDs are novelty items. They aren't issued by any state, city or county. They don't replace your pet's license or rabies tag.
Design your pet's ID
"I used to spend a fortune on limousines, but now I can drive my Mom and Dad to all their red carpet events in our Bentley! Thanks My Pet DMV!"
"Now that I’m retired, there’s nothing I enjoy more than driving to antique shows with my Dad and Mom. My Pet DMV helps me get all of my senior discounts too!"
"Our Pet Licenses lasted almost four years without fading or falling apart. The keychain ID is the best."